Kick-Ass Women: Win 3 Books Featuring Strong Female Characters

Lately I’ve been taking control of my life. I know you’re thinking “That’s weird. She’s old. Shouldn’t she always have had control of her life?” The answer is no. Sometimes taking control is a journey. For inspiration I’ve been looking to books. This winter and spring there are lots of strong Kick-Ass Women starring in your soon-to-be favourite novels. 

4 Books Featuring #KickAssWomen

 Read it: Flood Girls by Richard Fifield

Flood Girls by Richard FitfieldWelcome to Quinn, Montana, population: 956. A town where nearly all of the volunteer firemen are named Jim, where The Dirty Shame—the only bar in town—refuses to serve mixed drinks (too much work), where the locals hate the newcomers, and where the town softball team has never even come close to having a winning season. Until now. 

In the spirit of Empire Falls and A League of Their Own, with the caustic wit of Where’d You Go, Bernadette thrown in for good measure, this heartwarming debut about a group of the feistiest women you’ll ever meet will have you laughing through tears.

My take: Chock full of quirky characters, witty repartee and ridiculous baseball analogies, this sweet tale of a town led by strong (and very strange women) reminds us that all is not always what it seems. 

Want to read it: Dark Territory by Susan Philpott

Dark Territory by Susan PhilpottDark Territory follows Signy Shepherd, a kickass young woman who has spent her career with the Line, a modern underground railroad dedicated to helping women in peril. When Signy takes Lizzy, a young woman desperate to save her infant son from her abusive husband, under her protection, the case appears to be like any other. But when Lizzy’s behaviour turns from strange to erratic, Signy begins to suspect that her new ward is not the victim she claims to be.

Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen, Dark Territory is a high-speed thriller about a feisty young woman who’s faced with one question: what do you do when the very people you protect become more dangerous than the threats they’re escaping?  

My take: Unique premise. Love a book about women helping women. Looks like a winner.

For Fans of thrillers: The Passenger by Lisa Lutz

The Passenger by Lisa LutzFrom the author of the New York Times bestselling Spellman Files series, Lisa Lutz’s latest blistering thriller is about a woman who creates and sheds new identities as she crisscrosses the country to escape a haunting conspiracy from her past: you’ll want to buckle up for the ride! 

My take: I’ve heard that Lisa Lutz is an amazing writer. This one seems perfect for summer. I’m saving it for the cottage. 

Perfect for an April Fools: Still Mine/Amy Stuart

When Clare turns up alone in the remote mining town of Blackmore, she can’t help but investigate the mysterious disappearance of local girl Shayna Fowles. But as Clare uncovers the town’s secrets, she must also confront her own demons, moving us deeper and deeper into a labyrinth of lies. Canadian author Amy Stuart delivers a taut psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

My take: I’m holding my breath already!

KickAssWomenBanner_Passenger_Flood

Ready to get some Kick-Ass inspiration? Win all four of these fantastic reads now. 

19 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *